Unbidden Promises

On the threshold of a new era

I want to talk about you

Inspect the nuances of who you are

Recount unbroken promises and unspoken words too


 

When I wanted a friend, a buddy to play with

When I wanted someone to care

 When I wanted you to be my friend

My dear, you were there


When I wanted you to support my decision

Or back me up in a fight, if only to scare

When I needed you to advocate for me

My dear, you were there


 

When I needed someone to teach me, help me learn and grow

Someone with knowledge and the will to share

When I needed you to be my teacher

My dear, you were there


My gratitude isn’t enough

So I promise you every second I can spare

Whenever you need me from here on out

My dear, I will be there


 

For all the times we would cherish together

And for others when we would have fought

With you it’s all worth it

Without you it’s all for n’ought


Just yesterday we were jollying around the house

O! How the time flies

Many things may separate us ahead

But for us there’ll never be any goodbyes

– freaky geek 

PS :  This is probably the only dedication article I will be doing. The people for whom this is written, love you loads! Thanks for being a part of my life 
Leave a Reply

